UGA First Generation Committee

The UGA First Generation Committee, established in the Spring of 2019, collaborates on efforts to support first-generation undergraduate and graduate students on campus. Representatives from the Office of Instruction, the Graduate School, Division of Student Affairs, School of Law, and the Office of Institutional Diversity serve on this committee, in addition to first-generation student representatives from TRIO Student Support Services and First Gen Dawgs.

The committee designs and implements efforts to realize the University’s NASPA First-Gen Forward goals and coordinates the annual First-Generation College Celebration.


Committee Members

Shannon Bowles, University Health Center

Julia Butler-Mayes, Academic Advising Services

Lindsay Coco, Division of Academic Enhancement

Donald Coleman, Student Transitions

Jordan Delaney, Student Representative

Khristina Gallagher, Office of Instruction

Carson Kuck, Student Representative

Sherontae Maxwell, Division of Academic Enhancement

Rachel McDaniel, Graduate School

Rachel Pharr, Division of Academic Enhancement

Dominique Quarles, Office of Institutional Diversity

Amanda Shaw, School of Law

Lisa Sperling, Graduate School


Dr. Lindsay Coco, Assistant Director for Initiatives in the Division of Academic Enhancement, serves as the chairperson for this group. If you have questions or would like to engage in collaboration, contact Dr. Coco at or 706.583.0724.